Lydiard Park is a beautiful and historic estate located on the Western edge of Swindon. The parkland features 360 acres of land with a Palladian house, church, and Walled garden. The park is formally known as Lydiard Tregoze, and it is located 3 miles west of Central Swindon near the M4 Motorway's Junction 16. This tourist attraction was initially being owned by the Tregoze family back in 1198. In the early 1940s, the park was used as a hospital for the American Forces before becoming a hospital for prisoners of war for German soldiers. In the mid-1950s, the park was opened to the public. In 2005, the Swindon Borough Council received financing from the Heritage Lottery Fund to cater for its restoration. The restoration process included reinstating a two-acre lake into the park. The park is currently owned and managed by the Swindon Borough Council.
This site is also an incredible venue for civil ceremonies and wedding receptions. Families also host birthdays, anniversaries, and other parties at the location. It features fantastic facilities to host these events. Some of these facilities include 36 en-suite bedrooms.
The park features a wealth of history that you can discover with a simple tour around it. The park sometimes goes by the name Lydiard House or manor house. It has medieval property and home to a wide range of history. The historic estate features a children's area, Café and Tea rooms, educational programs, and a host of other events. The park hosts events throughout the year like the Open Air Theatre, Music, and Luna Cinema. It is, therefore, an incredible destination for a family day out. It is also a lovely destination for walks, runs, and bike rides. The entrance to the park is free, and it allows dogs into its ground.